To the Hunter-Gatherer in Us All:

 

Pueblo Indian Caves – Walnut Canyon, Arizona

I’ve been looking into this this whole cave-man cooking hype, or the “paleo” diet, as some call it. I have also been in favor of organics over conventional when it comes to my food. When the food is local and in season, that’s even better.

The Paleolithic way of eating suggests that the human body’s way of processing food is still the same from when we were hunter-gatherers. This also contributes to why so many of us have health issues: our bodies are not getting the nutrients they need and working too hard to process things they can’t handle.

For most of my life I have been lactose-intolerant and had severe acid-reflux. In the last few days I haven’t even taken my high-dose prescription because I simply don’t need it.

The keys to eating for wellness are to cut out factors that the body doesn’t process – grains (or flours), sugars, and dairy.

I know, these are my favorite too, but I want to feel great and look amazing. The later of the two helps the first one! You want to eat lots of lean meats and fish, fruit, vegetables, nuts and seeds.

Green beans and yams (in small amounts) are good but soybeans, other types of beans, and even peanuts are out.

So here goes nothing…

Imagine you are a native, loincloth wearing, savage eating off the land and hunting as you go. This means they didn’t smoke cigarettes! If it is a result of nature and not farming, you can probably eat it.

 

The canyon: all the ledges formed by rock were the place indians found to make their caves.

What could you have foraged while trekking to and from your cave?

Leave a comment