Sonoma, California

Sonoma has an old style square in the middle of town. There is a park with old-growth oaks, surrounded by cute shops and a few restaurants.

On one side there is even a mission – part of California’s history- Mission San Francisco Solano. California curriculum requires every child, in the public school system, to have a mission project in 4th grade. This was my mission.

The Sonoma Market offers a wide variety of organic and local goods. I purchased some bread there in anticipation of the cheese to accompany it.

The Sonoma Cheese Factory had at least 10 different types of cheese to try from, that they had personally made. My absolute favorite was the Lavender Jack cheese with Mediterranean coming in second (sun-dried tomatoes always get me).

I think I bought enough cheese to last the rest of the year. It has the unfortunate coincidence of pairing very well with Bohemian Highway Chardonnay of the Napa Valley.

What trip would be complete without a guy walking his mini horse?

Leave a comment